[Image: Roman Temple]
[Image: The Colosseum]

Society for the Promotion of Roman Studies


RAC and TRAC 2012

RAC X and TRAC 22 2012

The Tenth Roman Archaeology Conference and Twenty-second Theoretical Archaeology Conference were hosted by the Römisch-Germanische Kommission des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts in Frankfurt am Main, Germany from Thursday 29 March to Sunday 1 April 2012.

RAC was masterminded by David Wigg-Wolf with help from the organising committee: Peter Guest, Svend Hansen, Fraser Hunter, Egon Schallmayer and Fleur Kemmers.

The TRAC Committee consisted of: Annabel Bokern, Marion Boos, Stefan Krmnicek, Dominik Maschek and Sven Page.

The Opening

David Wigg-Wolf
Andrew Burnett (SPRS President)
David Wigg-Wolf, Peter Guest (Chair, Archaeology Committee), Andrew Burnett
Friederike Fless (President, Deutsches Archaologisches Institut)
Hartmut Leppin (Goethe-Universitat Frankfurt Am Main)
Egon Schallmayer (hessen Archaologie)

Presentation of the BA Dissertation Prize

Mark Blagg-Newsome and Andrew Burnett
Mark Blagg-Newsome and Andrew Burnett

The Opening Lecture

Prof Dr Nico Roymans

RAC & TRAC in progress at the Romisch-Germanische Kommission...

Publishers Room

Reception, Archaologisches Museum, Frankfurt

Andrew Burnett, Martin Millett, Simon Keay
Peter Guest

Conference Dinner, Apfelwein Wagner

Closing Ceremony

Peter Guest and David Wigg-Wolf
David Wigg-Wolf
Peter Guest
The conference helpers
Annabel Bokern, TRAC
John Creighton receives the Olympic (RAC) flame for the 2014 Reading RAC
Jason Lundock receives the Olympic (TRAC) flame for the 2013 KCL TRAC